Allowance & Chores Bot FAQ 

 

Do I have to buy the app again for all my children’s devices? 

No. You don’t have to buy the app again.  You can use Family Sharing (for iOS devices) or Family Library (for Android devices) to install the full app on your other devices.

Then you just need to log into the app with the same email and password and all the apps will be kept in sync. 

 

What devices does Allowance & Chores Bot work on? 

Allowance & Chores Bot works on iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch with iOS 8.0 and later and Android phones and tablets with Android 4.1 and later.

 

Can I see the history of past spending/rewards/punishments? 

Yes.  The Graph view shows you the progress of a kids' savings and it will display information about the events that occurred on each day if there were any. The graph displays a blue line that indicates the daily history of the total savings in the allowance.  The gray line shows the future savings that will accrue in the allowance if no money is spent.  Tap on the large blue dots to see the descriptions for spending/rewards/punishments. 

 

Is Allowance & Chores Bot complicated to use? 

Allowance & Chores Bot is very easy to use.  Once you create a user account, the app will guide you through the following steps:

    1.Create a four digit parental passcode (to make sure your kids can't change things)

    2.Choose daily or weekly allowances.

    3.Select automatic or manually approved allowance payments.

    4.Add an allowance for each child.

 

Will Allowance & Chores Bot work with the larger screen on my iPhone 6 and 6+? 

Yes.  AllowanceBot automatically adjusts to fully utilize the larger iPhone 6 and 6+ screen.

 

Is there a limit to the number of children I can add to Allowance & Chores Bot? 

No. Allowance & Chores Bot does not limit the number of children, allowances, or chores.

 

Can I enter different allowance amounts for different children? 

Yes, when you're setting up each child's allowance you'll be prompted to enter an allowance amount for each child.

 

What if my kid already has an allowance and some money saved up? 

When you set up your child's allowance you'll be able to enter a starting balance for the money they have already saved.

 

Why do I need to create an account to use Allowance & Chores Bot? 

Allowance & Chores Bot stores allowance information and settings on a central server.  This allows more than one person to log in to the same account on different iOS devices and see the same information.  Allowance & Chores Bot automatically synchronizes allowance information and settings on all the devices.

 

Will my account information be kept private? 

Yes.  We will never share, sell, lend or give away any information you enter into Allowance & Chores Bot.

 

Can more than one person in my family use Allowance & Chores Bot at the same time? 

Yes.  Parents and children can login with the same account on different iOS devices and see the same information.

 

When are allowances credited to my child's account? 

Allowances are credited on the day you have chosen to have allowances paid, one second after Midnight, in the time zone you were in when you created your account.

 

Do I need WiFi or a Data Connection to use Allowance & Chores Bot? 

Yes.  Allowance information is stored on a server, so your device must be able to connect to the internet to access the information.

 

Why does Allowance & Chores Bot ask me if I want to receive push notifications? 

Allowance & Chores Bot uses push notifications to automatically update itself when there are changes to allowance settings and information.

 

Will the app work if I choose not to receive push notifications? 

Yes, but it will not automatically update itself in real time when changes occur.  In order to update the app without push notifications; close and reopen the app.  If you want t to enable or disable push notifications, open the iOS settings app, tap notifications, scroll down to Allowance & Chores Bot tap on the icon, and the next screen will allow you to turn notifications on or off.

 

How do I change the order of chores in my children’s TODO list? 

You can reorder chores in the chore assignment view.  When they are displayed in the child's TODO list, they will have the same order.  

The chore assignment view is the one that comes up after you hit the "assign" button.  If you hold your finger on a chore assignment for 1 second, it will turn grey, and you can drag it up or down in the list of chores.

 

I forgot my parental passcode.  How do I reset it? 

Please send us a message from the feedback form within the app and we will be able to send you your parental passcode.

You can change your parental passcode in the Account Settings view in the app.

 

The app crashes or does some other strange thing.  What can I do? 

We have seen things like this happen when the app has been running for a long time in the background, or the device has not been rebooted in a long time.

 

Please try the following, in order:

1. Stop the Allowance Bot app and restart it.

Double tap your home button (the round one at the bottom of the screen), locate the Allowance Bot app and slide it up off the top of the screen to stop it.  Then restart the app by tapping its icon.

 

2. Reboot your phone.

Hold down both the home button and power button (the one on the top of the device) for about 10 seconds until you see the apple logo.  This will reboot the phone.

 

3.  Delete the app from your device and reinstall it from the app store.

Hold your finger on the app icon on the home screen until all the app icons start to shake, then tap the X on the Allowance Bot icon to delete it.  

 

Do not reinstall the app by syncing with iTunes.  If you do that, then the app will be restored to the same state it was in before and possibly still have the same problem.

 

Instead, reinstall the app from the app store on your device.  You won’t have to buy it again.  

 

Login to the app with the same email and password that you used before - the app will pull all of its data from the server and all the data stored in the app will be refreshed.